Lauren E. Burand


Lauren focuses on advising private employers, school districts, municipalities, and not-for-profit organizations on a variety of aspects of labor and employment law. She regularly provides guidance on personnel policies, discipline issues, and discrimination concerns. 

Prior to joining the firm, Lauren worked as a district court clerk in the First and Sixth Districts of Iowa where she worked closely with trial level judges to research and draft their opinions related to a wide variety of cases.


  • JD University of Iowa
  • BA Wheaton College
  • Member, State Bar of Wisconsin

Up Close & Personal

Q: Do you have children? Tell us about them.

A: I have a one year old daughter who I love watching learn and grow every day. She keeps me very busy and I love spending time with her, as much as I can.

Q: What do you do for fun?

A: When the weather is nice, I do my best to be outside. Otherwise, I spend a lot of time with family and keep up a few hobbies on the side, such as quilting.

Q: If you could take a 6 month sabbatical, what would you do?

A: I would travel. I enjoy experiencing other cultures, languages and traditions. The list of places I want to visit before I die grows regularly; so I would take the chance to knock a few of them off the list.

Q: What is your favorite vacation destination?

A: Sicily. My grandparents came to the U.S. in the 1950’s from Sicily. We still have family in the small town they came from and it is a beautiful place to vacation.

Q: Most prized possession?

A: One item would be a set of letters I have from my grandmother. She wrote to me every week when I was in college and law school, from out of state, and I am so thankful to have those and the memories they represent.

Q: If I had not gone to law school, I would have become….

A: Almost certainly a teacher. I started college with the intention to be a music or history teacher, before I changed course.

Q: If I left the practice of law today, I would become…

A: Probably a mom. I love working as a lawyer; but if I left the practice, I would have no problem being a mom full time.

Q: What was your very first job?

A: My first job in high school was as a piano teacher. I taught beginning piano students out of my parent’s home one night a week.

Q: Favorite thing about living in Wisconsin?

A: I appreciate being close to family and taking advantage of both the easy access to Milwaukee with its events and activities